When I grow up…

I decided what I want to be when I grow up!

Ball Winder

I spent a good part of the day yesterday winding yarn into balls with my new ball winder. I want to be a yarn winder when I grow up! What a great job! Touching beautiful skeins of yarn, admiring them as they spin into perfect balls. Now, I’ve been admiring skeins of yarn for awhile now, but once they are wound into balls on the ball winder, they are extra lovely! So please, someone, hire me to be a ball winder…what a dream job! Do you think there is a help wanted section on Monster for ball winders?

I did discover why you need a swift if you are winding yarn into balls. Yikes! What a mess you can make! I’ll be adding a swift to my birthday wish list!

Ball Winder Mess

I finished knitting and crocheting the the borders on the bath rug I have been working on for awhile now. I haven’t crocheted in years. I took lessons when I was 12 years old, and never really did much of it after that. It was like riding a bike, really easy! I need to block the rug. I’ve never blocked anything before…so I hope it turns out okay.

Hippie Rug

I used mercerized cabled cotton yarn that I purchased at my LYS. It is by Rainbow Mills, Crayon’s. I loved the color combinations, (funky hippie colors) and I really liked working with the mercerized cabled cotton. I got the idea to make a rug from a free pattern I found on Lion Brand’s website. I didn’t really follow the pattern for Nana’s Bathmat, but that is where I got the idea.

Oh! I decided to take a lesson on the Ashford Knitters Loom! I figured I could just go for it and learn it myself, and learn bad habits…OR take a lesson and get it right the first time! I can’t wait for my first lesson at the weaving department at the Meyer’s House in Florissant, MO. If you’ve never been to the Meyer’s house…it is a fiber heaven!

One response to “When I grow up…

  1. Ooohhh!! Congratulations on your new ball winder…isn’t it so much fun?!

    Yes, the swift will make things much easier. My swift was backordered and didn’t arrive with my ball winder…it’s not fun to manage a hank while winding.

    Your yarn looks really pretty all wound up in cakes. Great pictures!

Leave a Reply

