Corrugator progress, knitting book and massive yarn

I finished the first skein of Lorna’s Laces Lion and Lamb on my corrugator scarf it is about 30 inches long. Sad news is, I thought I had a second skein. Turns out, I have Lorna’s Laces sock weight, not Lion and Lamb. Sigh. It is times like these that I really wish I had a job so I could just rush out and buy the skein of yarn I desperately need RIGHT NOW! But, alas, the corrugator scarf will have to wait.

Son number 2 sent me a surprise! It arrived today and I couldn’t wait to share it with everyone! (Teary eyed because my son was in a thrift store and thought of his Mama when he saw a knitting book. How cool is that!)

The book was published in 1972 by Octopus Books Limited in London. It has 80 patterns and lots of awesome 1972ish pictures! Here are a few of my favorites:

Don’t you just love the sideburns? My daddy had sideburns like that! I love the scarf, hat and purse pattern on the third shot. I just might have to make those!

Check out this massive, huge, gigantic spool of yarn that was gifted to me! I have no idea what I will do with it. Because it is thin decorative yarn, I will need to mix it with another yarn. This photo is NOT blown up. This yarn spool IS this huge! It weighs like 4 lbs! Any ideas out there, what should I do with it???

4 responses to “Corrugator progress, knitting book and massive yarn

  1. On the huge cone of yarn…I used that exact type of yarn to make a scarf called Jeweled Lace Scarves by Arachne Designs. Maybe you can still find the pattern. If you adapted the pattern to a large shawl it would be beautiful. I also have thought to make it into an accent curtain. I used 2 skeins of Plymouth Eros 165 yds (50 grams)/skein for the scarf so you have a bundle there.

  2. I just looked at the pattern. they have a website http://www.arachnedesigns.net

  3. Thank you so much! That pattern looks perfect for this yarn!

  4. I don’t know if you have the KK round booklet the first one, they have a shawl in there that you do on the yellow KK that you K3 skip one or two pegs and 3K again. I know I have this booklet somewhere in the menagarie that is my fiber libary (hehe). I could send it to you if you like, let me know. Love the scarf, sorry you ran out of yarn I’ve done that too and it’s frustrating to say the least.

Leave a Reply

