Book Review: Girls Like Us

This past weekend, I spent a good amount of time reading a most excellent book! I thought I’d share a quick review. (This is not a paid review in anyway. I simply loved the book and want to share!)

girlslikeusGirls Like Us: Carole King, Joni Mitchell, Carly Simon–And the Journey of a Generation by Sheila Weller

I was born in 1960. These gals were in their early 20’s in 1960. This book tells the story of their lives in the 60’s and beyond.

Carole, Joni and Carly led the way for women in music. Each came from a different family background, yet ended up changing the world of music. Each had a connection to James Taylor. (I LOVE James Taylor! I had no idea about his addiction to drugs, which shocked me.)

They were all coming of age smack dab in the middle of the women’s revolution. What an enjoyable read!

I came away feeling like I have a better understanding of not just musical history, but the history of being a woman during this time.

So far, this is my best read this summer! If you are going on vacation, or just have some spare time….read this book this summer!

You can read the first chapter for free here!

Leave a Reply

